I feel so bad for the modern DJ today

It seems the further we walk down the road the worse FM radio seems to get. From time to time I’ll hop in the car for a short run to the liquor store and every now and then I will actually turn on the radio. It’s the same thing, time after time and I know as I’m pushing the “On” button that I will soon be disappointed.

Preset #1, commercial, preset #2, commercial. Then I hit the scan button…the stereo searches and then finds a station, commercial, NEXT, crappy pop channel playing Robin Thicke for the 9 trillionth time, NEXT, commercial, NEXT, Robin Thicke again. WTF!

By now I’m at my destination, I click the “Off” button, not to repeat this process again for another two months.

It’s fucking sad. Even if I do manage to find a station that might have an actual guitar on it, it’s some worn out Zeppelin song or Bad Company or some shit like that and the saddest part of it are all the DJ’s. I feel so bad for the modern DJ today. They are the human amongst the robots, pointless in their use, needless in their ability, knowing they have no real job, just trying to collect a pay check in a field that used to have a purpose.

Since the dawn of radio, the DJ played a poignant roll at the station. They pulled albums from the vast rooms of LP’s; they designed their show’s format and helped mold the trends. They discovered the next hits and helped field the industries new talents.  But those days are long gone. Now, much like the robot lawyers at the record companies, they have no real purpose. Yeah, they still lead the next block of songs or commercials and they somehow have to sound thrilled to hear “Blurred Lines” again, by they have no soul. Just another gear in the transmission, having their flesh crushed under the weight of the machine, blood and guts squeezed between the moving parts.

With the death of Casey Kasem comes the death of all DJ’s. DJ, stands for Disc Jockey. There are no discs and there is nothing to Jock Up! The Auto DJ 5000 chooses 1 of 200 songs that will be played in a vile never ending commercial designed and micro managed simply to pick your wallet. Nothing more and nothing less, FM radio is a marketing tool carefully orchestrated to separate you from your money. If you are fool enough to turn it on then you are subjecting yourself to the subconscious pick pocketing that these machines were manipulated to do and that’s TAKE!

This brings me to my show on Kosher Metal, a show without commercial influence, a show without the Auto DJ 5000 and a show that has little or no outside influence.

Like the days gone by, I pick songs that I would want to hear on FM radio. Songs that if I could get in my car, turn the key and go for a drive, this is what I would want to hear.

I never play a song I haven’t heard before. I never play a song that I have been told to play by management (as if someone at Kosher Metal would ever do such a thing, LUDACRIS!). I simply play what ROCKS!

In the end, FM is not only dead, it’s been dead for decades and it’s never coming back. The good thing is, you don’t have to be part of that shit. You can simply download the Kosher Metal app to your phone, or the Tune In app and search for Kosher Metal and listen through your car stereo while streaming. No Robin Thicke, no bullshit commercials for lawyers or used cars or local dentists or Walmart or McDonalds…JUST MUSIC and for that matter, JUST METAL! The way it’s supposed to be!

Tune in to:
Chris Violence’s Traveling Damnation Show,
Wednesday’s from 8-10pm

Mealocity with Steven Steel & Stack the Ripper
Thursday’s from 8-10pm

www.KosherMetal.com

And yes, this was just a commercial…SUCKER!

Chris Violence
www.ChrisViolence.com

